Mayor Tony Spitaleri

Mayor Tony Spitaleri

City of Sunnyvale


Mr. Spilteri, Mayor, City of Sunnyvale has 36 years of service at Palo Alto Fire Department as Captain and as Information Officer. He is the President, Palo Alto Professional Firefighters Union and International Association of Firefighters Service Representative. He is also an Independent Business Owner and Concerned Citizens Association (1982).

He has worked with High Speed Train Policy Working Group, Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG), League of California Cities (LCC), National League of Cities (NLC), Cities Association of Santa Clara County (CASCC), Valley Transportation Authority (VTA), Peninsula Policy Partnership Grand Boulevard Task Force (2006 – 2007) and U.S. Conference of Mayors.

He has performed various community services and activities like Palo Alto Firefighters Union President Leadership Sunnyvale, Historic Society Museum Team, Chair, Charter Review Committee, Parks and Recreation Commission, Paramedic Advisory Committee, Sunnyvale United Way Programs, Red Cross First Aid Instructor. He is the member of Historic Society, League of Women Voters, Board of Directors, American African NURU Foundation, Financial Secretary, Sons of Italy-William PACA Lodge and the like.

He was also involved with sports; he was the Manager of Twin Creeks 18 and under Girls Fast Pitch Team (1986), Board Director, Southern Little League Baseball (1979) and Coach, Little League Baseball and Soccer (1978).

He achieved different honors and awards like California Senate Resolution of Commendation for Public Service (2005), United States House of Representatives Congressional Record (2003), Special Congressional Recognition Outstanding Service (2003), California State Assembly Resolution Recognition of Public Service (2003), Santa Clara Board of Supervisors Resolution of Commendation for Service to the Community (2003), City of Sunnyvale Recognition of Public Service (2003), City of Palo Alto Recognition of Public Service (2003), India Post News Paper for India Community Service (1996), Outstanding Young Man of America Award (1978).